The Monthly Rewind: February 2023

A World Wind Month

Hello, friend,

What do we think of this new newsletter platform?

After some searching since I received the news that the former newsletter program I was using - and was not super user friendly in my opinion - was going to start limiting free accounts, I thought it best for us to move to another platform. So here we are!

Now, I told you all I'd be trying to do these monthly and I'm sticking to it. I hope we all enjoy this as much as I think we will. Plus you can go back and read these on a website if you ever just wanna do that instead.

What Happened This Month?

As you saw above this month has been an absolute world wind.

Feb 3-6 -To Memphis!

It started with a trip to visit my friend Sammi for her thirtieth birthday. I spent new years with her and her husband as well, but this was so special to get to celebrate with Sammi for the - what I jokingly call - changing of the guard. I tried both ramen and curry while I was there and got to experience dim sum again on a larger scale due to the amount of people we had at the table. We also caught the newest Puss in Boots film and it was so worth the exhaustion I had on Monday.

Feb 12 - Super Bowl Sunday

While in past years I haven't had much of an interest in the Super Bowl, this one happened to have my attention to the fullest. Why? Because Jalen Hurts and the Philadelphia Eagles have made their way to the Super Bowl. Sure that might not be a huge thing to some, but as someone who adores Jalen, this is special for me to see him doing so well after everything that has happened to him leading up to this point during his college football career at Alabama.

And while the Eagles lost, it was still a game worth watching. Plus Jalen broke a few records during the game so I am very proud of him.

My MacBook also decided to give me issues in this time frame. Thank the goddess for my boyfriend because he was able to fix it.

Feb 25 - Pickle Fest

The last weekend of this month was Pickle Fest down in Memphis. We went down Saturday morning to enjoy the festival that afternoon. Honestly, it was exactly what I needed this month after some major craziness that is no where near ending with work. But pickle fest was not what we thought it was going to be and ended up being a bust. So we ended up hitting up a couple local places while we were in town before going to get dim sum.

Blog Posts You Might Have Missed

The first blog post for February entitled Lupercalia encompasses the history of the holiday that is distantly related to Valentine's Day.

The second was my review of the StoryGraph app. It's where I do all my reading tracking so don't hesitate to click here to come join me!

And last but not least my weekend review of Pickle Fest down in Memphis.

Yep, that's right I included a surprise blog post this month - which was really the StoryGraph review. So enjoy!

What's in the Cards for Next Month

March is going to be an extremely busy month for me. We're working on some major projects where I work so it is going to be super busy. Although that is the case, I'm still making room for self care in the way of going to see my darling hair stylist, the October Stylist. The blonde has to be refreshed every so often otherwise your girl is not going to be her usual self. Rachael is absolutely amazing and I adore how much she loves on my hair. She does amazing work with vivids so if you're local to the Nashville area, you should really check out her work.

My Saturn Return

On top of the craziness and self-care, March is also catching the craziness of my Saturn Return which appears to be coming to its end - or at least I hope it is. I'm planning on doing a full post on this at some point based on my research, but each person essentially goes through this return at least three times in life around 27-31, then 56-60, and lastly the third around 84-90. There is not really a specific age. It just depends on when Saturn is in the same location it was in when you were born.

Like I said before I'm going to do a write up on the actual blog about this and what life is like on the other side of this return. But with Saturn being known as both the planet of responsibility and karma, the point of your returns are to learn how to deal with the repercussions of past actions. It's not all bad though so I'll see you on the other side of it.

Twitch News & Schedule

This month has been a horrible month for streaming. Like I said, my MacBook decided to go crazy. My battery was already on the way out the door, but it turns out the real issue was my charge cord. Not to worry, the boyfriend came to the rescue. The battery has been replaced - giving me so much more time to work on blog posts - and he gave me a new charge cord. So we are all good for now!

But there is good news, March will see the resurgence of streaming over on Twitch. I am aiming to start having Tuesdays be more of a chill night and Fridays will be gaming nights. The last time we had a poll on what I was going to play on Friday, the group decided I needed to play The Last of Us which I will be continuing as I will not let myself watch past episode 3 of the show until I have gotten further in the game to avoid some level of spoiler things.

So Friday March 3 will be the return of streaming nights with games.

Last Reminders

My only referral link exists for Hey, Mavens! (pssst that's the referral link) and you can use my referral code "MAGNOLIASANDCRYSTALS" to get 10% off your order with them. I do make a tiny commission off this. However, it is totally worth it because you're gonna get comfy undies.

There is also a Discord Server for the blog. You can click here to come join. We'd love to have you! Plus this is where a lot of the polls are going to be housed going forward for Twitch and other things.

I hope March is good to you and I will see you next month for our look back at the month.

And who knows! Maybe I can come up some other items for the month for you to enjoy!

My love,